Protandim -A con or temporal effective?

A reader who is very active in the community asked me to review this patented dietary supplement marketed by LifeVantage Corporation.  The reader wrote:

“I wonder if you have come across this supplement at all? It contains a blend of herbs that is supposed to up regulate nrf2. A handful of MECFS patients have taken it an experienced temporary remissions lasting about four months at which time it ceases to work.

I just started taking it four days ago and now have a raging fever/sore throat/sinus congestion. It is my first time having a normal immune response to a common virus since getting sick five years ago. It’s possible it’s a coincidence but I find that highly unlikely. My husband also has a cold (I think I caught it from him) but generally when he gets sick I just have a worsening of my ME symptoms or experience no change at all:”

My initial impression (aka hypothesis) is that it may deal with some vector of bacteria. It is effective against the general bacteria it impacts, but then those that have natural resistance starts multiplying and fill the vacuum of the killed bacteria. This pattern is common with antibiotics and antivirals. It is also why I strongly advocate rotate-rotate-rotate!

The nice thing about a patent supplement is that a patent has been filed and may be read. The patent is US20050226942 and filed in March 2005.

  • “induce the body’s production of the antioxidants SOD, CAT, and GPX,”

The ingredients in the current product are:

All of these are familiar in treating CFS except for Bacopa.

Method of Action

The product is sold for it’s anti-oxidant characteristics. Examining the ingredients one by one, we discover that every ingredient also has anti-bacterial properties. Staphylococcus aureus showed up for every ingredient— and given that a Staphylococcus aureus vaccine results in a significant recovery rate (as long as booster shots are given), the improvement reported appears very creditable.

Similarly, it stop working around 4 months is also very creditable because “antibiotic resistance” to these herbs would build up.

Bottom Line

While the anti-E.Coli aspect is not ideal, this mixture (or mixing your own from bulk powder) for up to ONE MONTH – is well worth trying. After one month, you should rotate to prevent resistant varieties arising. I would suggest at least 1 three month break at least, and preferably 6 months.

In a future post, I will drill down into herbs effective against Staphylococcus aureus in the hope of producing a potential rotation list.

NOTE: I am NOT saying that Staphylococcus aureus is the cause. What I am suggesting is that what is effective against Staphylococcus aureus, is reasonably effective against the bacteria involved.